Open Hexagon released!

Open Hexagon is my first completed game.
It’s a fast paced fun clone of Super Hexagon (by Terry Canavagh).

The goal of the game is to survive as long as possible, by avoiding the walls closing in towards the center.
You are the little triangle, and can rotate by using the left/right arrow keys.

The soundtrack is made by BOSSFIGHT.

The game is completely customizable: you can create and share levels/patterns/styles/music.
Everything can be modified and created with your favorite text editor, thanks to the simple JSON language.

3 comments
  1. anonymous bystander said:

    It might have been polite to at least wait for Terry’s PC/Mac version to be released before releasing your clone of it? As-is, this feels more than a bit uncomfortable.

    (And why decide to release a clone in the first place? Why not take what you’ve done so far and turn it into something at least a touch more transformative of the original concept?)

    • Terry gave me permission to make a Super Hexagon inspired game. This is a clone, but not an exact copy. My goal was to bring an experience similar to Super Hexagon from iOS on PC, and mostly important to make it open-source, to let others learn from my efforts.

      In all honesty, I don’t want to make Terry Canavagh lose any money. I credited him everywhere, and I hope (and encourage) everyone who likes Open Hexagon checks out Super Hexagon and consider buying it.

      However, I do believe that releasing any project as a FOSS (Free and open-source software) is valuable for everyone. 

      I hope interest in Open Hexagon can make iOS-device owners want the same experience on mobile devices and check out Super Hexagon.

      Thanks for your thoughts, though. I do agree that creating something completely new would’ve been less controversial, but that was not what I was aiming for.

      • anonymous bystander said:

        Thanks for the reply. I might not have bothered commenting had I known you’d asked for and received permission (even if, philosophically speaking, one might say neither should be necessary). I get where you’re coming from — and I’m with you on the value of free and open-source software — but I think it was primarily the promotional video that rubbed me the wrong way, the way no mention of the original is made except for a “special thanks” at the end that doesn’t really indicate quite the level of ‘inspiration’ the original has provided here.

        That said, Super Hexagon will likely get a whole bunch of attention once it’s finally released for PC and Mac, so there’s probably no danger of confusion. Personally, I’d probably like to see the word ‘clone’ show up in place of ‘inspired by’ here and in the video (and in the readme), but I suppose that’s a question of degree. Maybe “open source, customizable version of Terry Cavanagh’s original” would do the trick.

        And the timing makes me uncomfortable, but as an anonymous bystander it’s not really my place to judge, I guess.

        Cheers, and good luck with future projects…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

